Just How Useful are Facebook and LinkedIn?

Image by angietorres via Flickr

Now that ADL310 has given us nearly a week to test out Facebook and LinkedIn, I’ve come to some conclusions about how each site can help me reach my professional, personal and business goals.

Here’s a breakdown of each of those topics:

Facebook

  • Personal use: Logging on to Facebook is the easiest way for me to see what my friends and family are up to. It provides me with details about their lives that I likely wouldn’t be able to access simply because there just isn’t enough time to catch up with that many people.
  • Professional use: Because I’m in the field of recruitment communications, it’s pretty much mandatory that I am in some way involved with Facebook. Since prospective students live online, Facebook offers a great way to interact with, and market to, my audience in a way that other forms of communication don’t allow (such as email).
  • Business use: If I owned a business, I would definitely set up a Facebook page to promote my activities and products. As a free way to market services, it’s a great tool to use. And it’s also a good platform that you can use to engage in paid promotional activities, especially if your business is part of a niche market.

LinkedIn

  • Personal use: I really can’t see the value in using LinkedIn for personal reasons.  While I do realize that you can use LinkedIn to keep in touch with former colleagues (which could be considered a personal reason…unless you were contacting them to achieve professional/business goals), the only reason I see value in using LinkedIn is to help further my professional goals. I’m of the opinion that if my colleagues were also my friends, I would keep in contact with them through other means (such as email and texting).
  • Professional use: Out of all the social networking sites, LinkedIn really is the best one to use to further your career goals. I created my account during my most recent job search because I heard it was a useful site, and I know of a few people who have been headhunted via their profiles. Although I haven’t put a lot of effort into creating my profile, I do intend to spend more time learning about what the site has to offer.
  • Business use: As with Facebook, I can see how LinkedIn would be a very useful tool to use if you owned a business or were creating a personal brand. Answering questions and joining groups would be effective ways to get your name and your skills noticed, and that could help attract new clients.
Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Just How Useful are Facebook and LinkedIn?”

  1. giselles6 says :

    Reblogged this on My Six Essentials and commented:
    Here are 6 great reasons why Facebook and LinkedIn are useful for Businesses.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Just How Useful are Facebook and LinkedIn? | Kenneth Carnesi - April 24, 2013

Leave a Reply

Venezuela 2013

capriles4prez

Emperor Tony the First

Building an island empire - one mistake at a time

Polka Dots of Joy in the fabric of Life

Beauty can be found Everywhere

reflections310

Reflections & Ramblings on Social Media

Lu Elsey and her ramblings

Welcoming an ignorant English woman to the world of social media

Courtside Commentary

Join me Courtside for Thoughts and Reflections on Social Media and More...!

Social Me

Learning ADL 310

Saras Safety Tips

ADL310 University of Calgary Yahoo :)

ADL 310 - Social Media and More

Bonita and Bob's Blog for ADL310

kathrynrecruit

ADL 310: Social Media & More

evergreencareercounsel

Forging your career

adl310steph

Reflections of a campus communicator

